Travel Diary: The Thing about India is …

it’s a land of inimitable records.
The enormity of 1 bil people just doesn’t sink it, let alone the consequences of having 1 bil people. Subsequently, the only reply I ever hear is “no” and “I regret to inform …”

(space)

See, first, there were NO train tickets.
Then, NO flights.
NO rooms.
(space)
No, no, NO

(space)
Geez , I’ve never heard so many “NOs” in a span of 3 weeks, as I just have.


(space)
(space)
But amazingly, I’ve remained relatively calm (ok, not so calm about the flights and more so with the breaking news of Benazir Bhutto’s assassination when faced with a relief ticketing agent who didn’t know how to search for flights!).

(space)
Normally, I would react.

(space)

I mean R-E-A-C-T. Look, ‘metta‘ is not in my vocabulary and I am being dead on honest.

(space)
… but there is just something in the demure of the Indians that makes everything seems ok, and to a large extend put shame in me for thinking endlessly about me and my poor, poor plight.
(space)
More interestingly, there’s always a coy stranger observing from far and giving me the reassuring smiles and head gestures; with the occasional ones that reaches out to offer help. For a nation with 1 bil people, I would have thought that people would be primarily concern with their own welfare; but I thought wrong and apologise.
(space)

Well, in slightly over a week, I will find out as I will make the 1,000,000,001 person … oh well, not quite – and yes, stretching the census here! {wink}



Leave a Reply

