darn the airfare hikes!

.
i have suddenly lost any appetite for travel.
what used to be a business class is now sardine class.
.
and i saved 20 days of annual leave for december ’08 – january ’09!!!
i had it all worked out.
i was going to bust my butt for the next 4 months. nail my KPIs. then, get lost.
.
literally lost for an entire month and a bit more.
i wanted to go for a photography workshop.
either with Z, who refuses my money.
or tag along with Z, X or N.
or … even N, who may host a workshop as well. but again would not hear to taking my money.
.
no. no. i do NOT have any aspirations of being a pj.
thank you.
i am happy with my “have” status.
my conscious is free.
someone said i am no yuppie.
i do what i can do. in my BEST capacity.
.
but going to Timbuktu would be fun, i thought.
yes, it actually exist on the map!
its in Mali. I said Mali, not Bali.
.
and no. it’s not cause i can say i’ve been to Timbuktu.
{ but that too }
it’s cause i CAN say I HAVE been to Timbuktu.
.
it’s immaterial now.
the airfares have soared.
i’m having difficulty getting my bum to Morocco, much less Timbuktu!
.
suddenly, that little fact jolted my self perception.
that little fact puts me in the tourist category.
rather than my self prided traveller category.
.
{ sigh }
oil. the killer of every thing in life.
and life in itself as well.
.
.

2 thoughts on “darn the airfare hikes!

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I will have to come back and spend more time on your blog. Love the way you write, and the glance at your pictures, oh my…gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

