Suburbs begining with ‘S’ and me…

.
Sentul
It’s as remote and strange to me as its name.

For some reason unknown to me, Sentul, Setapak and Segambut are all out there somewhere in KL. Though I am certain they are in different if not opposite directions from one another with the Petronas Twin Towers being at the epicenter, in Penelope’s clouded, confused, pea-sized brain (when it comes to Sentul, Setapak and Segambut) they are interchangeable names!

.

And also for some unexplainable reason I associate one ethnic group to each without knowing why or which (hence the word unexplainable and interchangeable is used).

.

Being a set of jittery nerves I looked up google maps (uh huh the new found ‘friend’) and punch in the address into my GPS. Annoying lady’s voice booms out loud with:
“Unknowned destination. Please key in address.”

.

I did that 10 times, no less, until I decided it was best to stole the black devise away and set off bravely. What was I thinking? Trusting a ‘woman’ for directions?!??

I’ve never had one satisfactory ‘transaction’ with Missy GPS.
Her voice annoys me too.

And what right has she to use my favourite colour as arrows? Didn’t she know fuchsia was exclusively mine?

.

{OK. I am seriously sounding insanely insecure and jealous over my GPS. But really, I am not!}

.

Anyway, so, off I went to meet Gavin at the Kuala Lumpur City Center.
.
“In front of the Coach Boutique,” I said the night before.
.
It did cross my mind I wasn’t sure where the Coach Boutique is.
And for a nagging moment, I was certain I was meant to refer him to the Louis Vuitton Boutique, beside the Tiffany & Co. Boutique.
But telling a guy I have never met that?
Louis Vuitton?!?
more so a photographer working pro bono that?
hmmm…
does make me sound really shallow.
Best to stick to Coach Boutique – at least Coach is still mid-priced and not in the luxury goods category yet! and pray pray pray both of us knows where the Coach Boutique is!

.

Needless to say Gavin found it without any problems. I ended up at {righto!} Louis Vuitton.

heh heh
.

Thank God MAO, for mobile connectivity. I text his Thai number to inform him I took the wrong turn and consequently am making a whole circuit around the KL city center again!

.
After some very quick introductions, we made our way to Sentul

Of course I got lost behind the wheels! And Gavin took the map, reassuring me that he is a guy capable of reading maps and navigating.

.

errr… I am sure he is.
But the problem lies with the map from the Malaysian AIDS Council and the one from google map

.

……….(a) they didn’t sync
……….(b) they both had massive scale issues

.

Well, admittedly it doesn’t help when Penelope gets overly excited spotting cows grazing smack in the middle of Kuala Lumpur – an area she has evidently no idea exists…
followed by luxurious looking condominiums…
followed by a polluted snaky river running alongside the monorail…
that cuts across the skyline of temples, churches, et cetera
what a sight! and this being Gavin’s ‘
virgin‘ trip to Kuala Lumpur we had an adventure.

.

Gavin sure didn’t take long to recognise my ‘talent’ and suggested I moonlight as a ‘lost’ tour operator! to which I took positively.
.
God MAO! If a guy slips into sarcasm in less than an hour upon meeting wacky me, there is hope for a fruitful and mutually rewarding endeavour. And ours today was to volunteer our time and his expertise (not mine) in photographing for the Malaysian AIDS Council (MAC).

.
.

Since everything is still under wraps with a few more photographers working pro bono that will go on for the rest of the month of April (with Gavin being the ‘opening chapter’ and me being the ‘closing chapter’), I shall just say, Gavin and I finally made it to MAC’s office in Sentul in one piece and he started taking some photos of the premises and MAC volunteers…

.

I decided to make myself useful and took some behind the scene shots.

..

Gavin in action (above) persuaded me that the best photos are usually taken sitting on the floor! He got a better deal near the window. I got a spot by the toilet door!
.
So Gavin, that (^) toilet fact aside, I DO prefer
windows better! :p
.

.

ABOVE: a shot taken by me of Gavin and a lovely random devotee in a Sikh temple in Chow Kit area on our walkabouts… while taking shots for MAC’s archive and waiting for the real photo essay assignment in the evening.
.
.

.– – – – – – – – – – – – –

.
Gavin Gough is an award wining photographer and writer based in Bangkok, Thailand. Besides working on commission and shooting stock photographs for Getty and Lonely Planet Images, Gavin offers photo workshops and classes which aim to assist keen photographers develop their own skills in Bangkok. Click HERE to learn more and view gorgeous photos.
.

UK: +44 7092 121117
Thai: +66 84 907 3330
mail@gavingough.com

.
.
Many thanks Gavin for volunteering your time and offering your skills pro bono to the Malaysian AIDS Council … and for such a wonderful time! xox – P
.
.

7 thoughts on “Suburbs begining with ‘S’ and me…

  1. btw where do you post the shots?can u ‘publish’ the past NGO photo projects or not allowed?how does the copyright etc works?otherwise you have to give me your address lei to visit the photos lah. you also lah. lol

Leave a Reply

