bravely i ventured to the ‘mongolian restaurant’ 2day…

.

Low Yat or any computer centres jammed packed floor to ceiling with gizmo and gizmo talking uber geeks scares the @#$% out of me.

.

It’s pretty hard to explain.

Hence, often an exuberant exclamation like: geez Penelope! That’s a rip-off. Go to Low Yat. It’ll cost you 20% of what you paid!” is met with a meek smile from me.
.
What’s a girl to do?

How am I going to explain it? You’ll NEVER get it.
.
hmmmm
Anyways, some 32 hours ago, I tried explaining the experience to a colleague.
.

+ + + + + + + + + + +

.

Walk into a restaurant. hmmm… looks like they serve Chinese food. Though I’m officially (and not-so-proud-to-be) a “banana”, I thought I would survive. OK. Sure. Give me the once too many times unnecessary glance over … out comes the menu with very bad English translations coz the waiter had seized me up accurately as a “banana”. The only problem with this all too familiar scene is, the menu is in atrocious unintelligent, ineligible English and… and… {gulp} the strokes, flicks, curves and dots are … well, strokes, flicks, curves and dots.

.
So, I try verbalising my needs with a simple: “I’ll like noodles. What would you recommend?”

Mr. Waiter, flips through the almost new menu and points impatiently with the end of his well chewed BIC ball point pen across what seems like 120 entries of noodles variations on the menu.

{yet another gulp}
I offer, “err… fried noodles?”
This is met with impatience and exasperation… which I swear is contagious because in less than a nano second, I too am expressing myself in a similar fashion, mirroring after him.
.

+ + + + + + + + + + +

.

Well, I get into the exact same situation when I ask for a plain ol‘ blank DVD.

“R plus” or “R minus” will be the question.
{gulp gulp}
what?!? clutching on every effort to seem cool and intelligent I offer “the re-writable type”!

.
… the smirk!
God! what’s with the smirk?!? you geek!!!!!!!!

As a sider, interestingly when faced with an uber geek, my tongue and brains just get twisted and tied-up. I can never offer any colourful, flippant, sometimes sarcastic come backs.

.

Like, why didn’t I think of the retort “what? you got a goat instead?” when told that they ordered the wrong RAM… which brings me to the root of this blog entry.

.

After waiting for 6 whole weeks and 3 days for a one miserable 1GB RAM to upgrade by iBook, I am told it has arrived and I could get it fix today. Learning from experience talking to Machines and EpiCentre, I decided to play it safe and call them before sitting in traffic for hours to get across town to get a 10 minutes job done.

.
Why across town?

Well, this deserves a whole blog entry of thrashing in itself, but let me keep it to two lines. I called every MAC centre and authorised reseller in Kuala Lumpur for a quotation since my internal auditor furnished me with the listing and cautioned that I called to confirm availability before he drove to the designated building to have lunch-cum-get my RAM upgraded. The first quote of a 1GB RAM was MYR 599 {what the BLIP} and gradually it reduced to MYR 399 and finally MYR 199 … across town.

.
As for a 160GB Hard Disk? Well, the cheapest was MYR 599.

To this two material fact, my retail credit risk guy tells me I am a fool to support an organisation who doesn’t believe in fair trade and a person (referring to the almighty ‘god’ el Jobso) who can’t even give you a full apple – he has to take a bite out of it! farnee … but yeah, today, I can’t agree more.

.

And today, after 4 painful phone calls on my part of following up, and finally told at 4:45pm that Machines got the wrong RAM, I lost my cool. No, I did not scream. No, I did not go ballistic. Uh huh – surprising. I just went quiet. Disbelief. Lost of words. But I could feel the pressure building. I was literally turning into hulk when I buzz my colleague on chat and said :

“my blood pressure has shot to the roof. i am having serious palpitations. i am transforming into hulk. they got the wrong RAM!!!!!!!!”

.
promptly a reply appeared :

“let’s go to ‘mongolia’

sigh!

what a relief… and so I went to the ‘mongolian restaurant’, inching my way forward, one mini fit I threw at the DVD incident, but otherwise I followed my lead closely… got my Mac upgraded by the sweetest guy who sensed my apprehension and in his ultra suave manner calmed me down, cleaned my baby up and gave me a MYR 30 discount!

.

i survived the ‘mongolian restaurant’.
Mac can shoved their 17″ MacBookPro {which is on my ‘To Buy in 60 days List’} up their blip blip blip

.
i dug out my good ol‘ mini 750 gm Fujitsu Lifebook.
mr. retail credit risk, it’s all yours … ubuntu here I come! a convert.
.
.

9 thoughts on “bravely i ventured to the ‘mongolian restaurant’ 2day…

Leave a Reply

