being a bag fanatic doesnt help here!

..

It’s tough being a girl.
It’s tougher being a BAG fanatic girl… trying to find THE camera bag.
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
.

I can’t decide between the classics like Billingman (above) and my all time favourite Domke (below)
.

.
or going a bit more mainstream – the Lowepro, Kata, Think Tank etc… or even going funky! with Crumpler, Sidekick (Lomography), Funksion. OK. OK. I am definitely kidding about Funksion – it’s way too small to fit anything I own… but I do have something along the similar lines (beet root embarrassed to confess now) … Jill-e!

.
Hey! The rationale is pretty good. Look at it! If all fails it still makes a handsome carry-all tote handbag that I can use for work. :) Now, this is call expansion in its truest sense!
.
.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

.
OK. Back to serious talk because choosing the ideal bag is not an easy feat. In fact, it is a lot harder to choose a camera bag than the camera gear itself. One has to start thinking about several things with the bag:

  1. How many camera? Lens or other equipment I want to fit in?
  2. What about future purchases of new gears? Does the bag open an opportunity for expansion?
  3. What if I change my photography style/subject and need different gears?
  4. Comfort? or Assessibility? or Expandability?

Then of course there’s personal preferences of styling, colour, brand … and I have long told myself I am not a Lowepro person and I am not going to carry a Lowepro for the same reason I won’t shoot a Canon – which is a silly, flimsy reason that has nothing to do with the quality, technology or anything that remotely concerns the companies that produces them.

So, with that my ‘hunt’ is minimised by one brand being eliminated… and by infusing my madness and sometimes flighty personality, I thought:
.
.
See, the bag buying objective today is: to get a bag that fits every piece of gear I own in it plus a notebook … err… I’ve dropped the notebook ambition 4 hours ago due to the limited choices available coupled by the additional $$$ required to be forked out for one additional compartment and the overall weight of the bag.
.
Technically my Domke F-2 fits the bill.
But … yes, the ‘but’ we have all been expecting from me. (sigh) once loaded, the comfort and lopsided weight on one shoulder is a real killer! eroding its GREAT accessibility as a plus point.
.
.
So, aye aye comfort, total weight and balance is a huge consideration in everything I get; and though its of little relevence in camera body and lens decision making, being a typical girl, I just have to whine and bring it up all the time. :)
.
Hence, backpacks would be the most ideal solution provider in this case as it simple distributes weight evenly on both the shoulders and back. A week ago I was pretty set on ‘the pink compromise’ above (KATA) but somehow today, after having missed my Malaysian AIDS Council movie premier because my baby is sickies (the landrover was in the workshop) and feeling generally depressed this week, I decided to literally (PC) window shop and developed a nagging feeling ‘the pink compromise’ would be too small. Thank goodness for forums, product reviews etc etc … yes! it seems a tat too dainty and small for my gears.
.
Thus, the re-hunt begins.
I hated the aesthetics of all the serious KATAs.
The ThinkTank – while I have fiddled with them before, and they proof to be solid and are great bags, hmmm… a tat too squarish and boyish, I think. Hence, it’s name: Think (i.e. smart) Tank (i.e. physical appearance?)
.
So (eweeeeee… ouch!) I typed “Lowepro”, partly due to the limited choices available in Malaysia … And as faith has it for some strange reason a ‘lelong’ window pops up and I found a Lowepro Flipside 400AW Backpack at a discount. Even cheaper than my lovely Domke F-2, hencefort not giving me any reason not to give the Lowepro a moment of consideration. Anyways, I thought let’s contact the seller to see if it’s still available … and yikes! heavenly souls of all ancentrals might and will! it is available. (eweeeeeee…)
.
why? why? why?
gah! The never say ‘never’ curse at work again!
.
So, I’m currently deciding and thinking. Weight and bulk still remains as a major concern and buying consideration.

.
Lowepro : Domke = 1.6kg : 1.1kg = firm built : collapsible
.

And of course the: Should I get another bag? Do I NEED another bag? even the Do I WANT another bag? arises in this occassion as my drive for (PC) window shopping is 100% retail therapy.

.
But do I need to carry all my gear?

The answer is ‘yes. and no.’


yes
, I will need to haul all my gear plus my 65L backpack to a certain country or greater location.


no
, I will not need to have all my gear on me when I shoot.

For that, I have my Domke F-5xB around my waist containing my second body with a mounted lens and where the need arises a spare lens. The main body hangs around my neck.
.
(sigh)
As promised I will call the seller tomorrow to confirm my intentions… I am going to sleep over it.
.
.

6 thoughts on “being a bag fanatic doesnt help here!

  1. Definitely the Billingman or Domke. Pink one not you. The tote is very you (ha ha ha). Lowepro and rest is so not for someone who's anti establishment and anti mainstream – no?

  2. both the billingman and domke r really cool…very 'combat' like and matches yr Discovery. lol. i dunno but the the way the pink one zips..not really a good design as heavy stuff tends to fall out. hey, ms. travel veteran, travel light ok?

  3. both you guys … all I can say is:p:p:pI have TWO of those brown polka dotties with lime green lining camera bags ok!!! happy?!!?!?And yup, got the Flipside but I am fliping sides alright in that I am not giving up on my Domke but am seriously thinking of selling my 24hours old Lowepro. I just don't get these bulky bags.

  4. lolcan't agree more on the Jill-e expansion! hey, you forgot to mention your make-up looking bag with brown polka dots on lime green lining camera tote plus all the annoying free bags you get. aiyo just sell them sepuluh ringgit on lelong now that you have stumbled on the site or rather the site found you.

Leave a Reply

