Left Eyed Right Handed

.

FACTS:
I am right handed {hence, very much left brain}
My left eye is by far stronger than the right eye {though I LOVE both EQUALLY}
.
What does this mean?
.
I shoot 2 out of 3 things that I shoot with my left eye and right hand, whilst almost everyone is programmed left-left or right-right with exceptions of ambidextrous people whom I’ve often wondered about the ‘programming’.
.
But what does this really mean?
.
My instructors have no idea what to do with me.
.
See, my firearm instructor had resorted to teaching me how to shoot with my left arm and insisted I build strength in my left arm. I suspect this is coz he simply knows only how to build strength in arms and not eyes!
.
2 years ago I decided to dump dumb bells coz they are dumb and say ‘hello! flabs!’ and re-learned how to shoot left-right, I got my precision up to 80%. Enough I thought.
.
About 4 weeks back I decided to go for a Photo 101. I decided I really wanted to know how the film animal worked. See, with digital and technology the camera can do pretty much anything and whadaya know? You don’t need to to know nothing …
.
So, why? why? why?
Well, never mind the why? for the moment. Let’s just say Photo 101 didn’t go as plan with the camera ceena ah pek being first bemused than fixated with my left-right combination of coordination that made me feel as if I was deformed and born with pretzel like cross-eyed-hand coordinations!
.
Between me and the ceena ah pek I have no recollection now on who gave up on who first. But I spent most of the afternoon mucking around a 90K medium format LEAF camera supported by a giant support. I guessed if I too had the equivalent of a compressed Altis or Civic suspended in mid-air, I too would use a giant Transformer-cum-Concrete Pillar structure.
.
Today, while flipping through ‘Hot Shoe Diaries: Big Light from Small Flashes’, pages 41 to 45 caught my attention. Whadaya know??? Joe McNally is left-eyed and right handed!
.
yipee dabba dabba dooo dee
………………and he has a chapter devoted to left-eyed-right-handed people called “Da Grip“!
.
Ha!
oh yes a very BIG ‘ha’! to all those folks who thought I was weird. Well, ok. I am weird. That’s a fact. An abnormality.
.
But to give up on me and label me difficult and being deliberately different … hmmm… here’s another: HA!


As McNally says, “Apologies to right eyed shooters. You’re screwed.”
.
.

2 thoughts on “Left Eyed Right Handed

Leave a Reply

