Travel Tip 101: Sikkim ‘the Bhutan alternative’ Itinerary

.
I normally am a procrastinator and I do not mean to bore you with my most recent trip. In fact, this is the first time I am blogging so heavily about it and almost immediately. My trips usually has a gestation period of 2 years before they make it to this space.
I guess you could say I don’t take harassment and bullying well – ha! that’s sarcasm for you Keat!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 
the ITINERARY
 
12th December (Day 1)
off to CALCUTTA
Flight | KUL 2:30 pm  CCU 3:50 pm (+2.5 hrs Malaysian time)
Darjeeling Mail Express | CCU (SDAH) 10:05 pm  NEW JALPAIGURI (NJP)
 AC 1st Class – Cost MYR 91.50
13th December (Day 2)
off to GANGTOK, SIKKIM 
NEW JALPAIGURI (NJP) 11:05 am 

(delayed by 2.5 hrs due to heavy fogs)

via Siliguri and Rangpo

 evening stroll along The Mall and MG Marg, Gangtok
14th December (Day 3)
Enchey Monastery (Enchey Chaam)
Lingdum Monastery
Flower Exhibition Hall
15th December (Day 4)
Phodong Monastery (Kagyat Dance)
16th December (Day 5)
Tsomgo Lake + Nathu La
Namgyal Institute of Tibetology
Do-Drul Chorten and Gompa
Directorate of Handicrafts and Handloom 
Rumtek Monastery

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 
,

for {tips} + my POV

 

click HERE

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

other useful TRAVEL INDIA links

{a quick and informative guide about Sikkim}
{Indian Rail Ticket Bookings}

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

accommodation I recommend
Hotel Tibet
Namgyal Homestay


{if you are serious about visiting, you may contact me HERE for the tour guide and/or fixer’s number}

Note: places in orange fonts were the main purpose of my trip. I would suggest omitting some monastery and all the rest of the places and substituting it for a trek in either North Sikkim (Yumthang Valley) or West Sikkim (Pelling-Tashiding or Yuksom-Dzongri-Goecha-La Yuksom treks). Also, best to plan trip in September-October for best trekking and views of Mount Khangchendzonga.



..

3 thoughts on “Travel Tip 101: Sikkim ‘the Bhutan alternative’ Itinerary

  1. grrrr… I'll send you the itinerary separately lah. I did a far larger route:from SIKKIM I went to West Bengal's Kalimpong, Darjeeling and somewhere else, then took off to North East India's Assam for the rhinos.Where do you want to go?I'll do it up for you. Also you will need a guide if you are planning on the treks.

  2. aiyohhhh, only confines to sikkim? what about return leg from sikkim? i dont care, episode 3 and 4…..(i m getting older, hate to research alraedy, juz wanna….stick to yr itinerary…should be good enough….lol.in fact, i should be appluaded, becasue i still..err..backpack..lol.)

  3. tank yew for succumbing to my constant but efektif harrasment, but i still find yr 2 posts on the whole route to sikkim a little inadequate…lah, and does not do justice to the place. I (in caps) therefore, expect MORE. lol.(find this post extremely relevant by now,lol)

Leave a Reply

