Work Diary: hey f2f-creators! we are launching soon …

.

12:31 am
FINALLY !!! our teaser/launch poster to be mailed out tomorrow.

I am itching to shoot this out to my boss and the CEO – can’t contain the excitement … but hell, better not push my luck especially when just 50-ish hours ago I just uttered “WHAT?!?” in the most irritated expression and tone to the latter as I turned my back to face him. Of course I didn’t know it was him silly! Otherwise, would I do something so foolish?
Anyways, that was a priceless moment and frankly I don’t know who was more stunned: me, the CEO or my colleagues … and mentally I saw myself shoving 3-ish years of ‘junk’ into a cardboard box, being frisked by our guard Indra and sent off.
As for the latter, well oh well, I owe her 15-20 page power point presentation for the upcoming Townhall … but hey! be fair. I had to run numbers; transfer them to the magical excel template I worked on for 2 days that allows the numbers to be cut and sliced any way with various simulations and graphical representation … blah, blah, blah; re-look and come up with a story line for the Townhall slides + look for graphics … and all the while I am thinking:
“SHIT!  f2f launches in a few days. We haven’t sorted out a more user friendly blog application, the forum categories and sub-categories have not be uploaded, the market place is not programmed yet … and oh, @#$% the launch story and poster!!!” 
{gulp, gulp, gulp}
.
Sure this was sort-off a hair brain idea from the standpoint that:
(a) I con my way too far in coming up with 3 ideas on how to run an internal Bank campaign …
(b) I should stop feeling intimidated by dares at my age. It’s so junior high school really! Dares that is.
(c) I sure can swing a story!
(d) it’s an additional ‘project’ I created out of nowhere and since its not a cast in stone KPI it’s ok to fail…
ah ha! But I am not one to fail.
So, I gathered some ‘suckers’ (whom I love to death) to volunteer their time (which is a scarce commodity if you are an Al Rajhi-an), redefined ‘Labour of LOVE’ for them, pile on some calories – make that a lot … but you really need the sugar rush to keep your eyes opened, fingers tapping and brains programming, … et cetera et cetera
{a top right hand glance at my Mac’s clock shows 12:48 AM . brain says: shut up Penny! Go to sleep. You can talk and type more tomorrow. Hey wait! I am in meeting from 9:00 AM to 7:00 PM tomorrow brain. No lunch break either. Probably some 3-minute breaks for nature’s call that includes stirring a heap of instant yucky coffee into giant mug.}
so … oh, well, I’ll tell this story some time later on how we came to be a ‘highly coveted’ team talking in hush tones about f2f behind close doors.
.
But right now, this comic strip we came up with gets publish Bankwide tomorrow and our internal social network is open for all on 10.01.10 <– yup, we are not dumb. We know it’s a Sunday … but, it sounds so binary-lah 100110 and besides … we are an Arabic bank. They work on a Sunday!
{see, how I can twist a story!!!! blimme}
.

.

a BIG BIG BIG hug and thank you to all those that toiled over f2f
(and will continue this act of slavery for months to come)
.
.
7 thoughts on “Work Diary: hey f2f-creators! we are launching soon …

  1. cheques have shrunk … almost non-existence in the near future – dya know that? – well in any case that's heads-up info for you.so we need facebook to fill the void cheques have/are leaving.:p

  2. What can you NOT do my dear princess? You put all of us to shame! Can't believe you drew that. Can't believe a bank allows facebook! When do you really work? ;p

  3. Thank you dear.We are cool man. Anyone who counts money and multiple them has to be plenty cool. So, take a stash of bills, prop yourself in front of a mirror and start counting.If you want them crisp, start ironing!!!!

Leave a Reply

