(trying) to end February with a ‘fatt’

.

Hence, I am pushing for the 8th post this month.

Generally I am not superstitious. Or religious; though I usually either spot a huge Tibetan turning wheel pendent with prayers in it or a Ganesha pendent around my neck whenever I am not with something trendy-er and pricy-er. The former is because “I can have one too” and the latter is coz I just adore mr. elephant God.  
.
I met a woman some days back who asked what Chap Goh Mei is about. I said, “the Chinese version of grown adults, but rather desperate, who plays Pooh Sticks with mandarin oranges.”
.
Her reply caught me by surprise.
This is a mother. An educated, vibrant, outgoing sort of person. 
How could she not know Pooh???
.
Oh, ok. She asked, “What’s Pooh Sticks?”
Reasonable. Not everyone reveres The Bear With Very Little Brain.
But having explained Pooh Sticks and connecting the dotted line {coz not everyone gets my humour} with Chap Goh Mei, I was met with “But who is Pooh?”
“Winnie-the-Pooh,” I replied rolling my eyeballs – I honestly, can’t help it. The tendons holding the balls together are not very good at controlling the balls. That’s the plain “truth”.
Sensing I was still not hitting home run, I offered Eeyore, Piglet, Kanga, Tigger, Roo, Christoper Robin and even the owl.
.
Gosh! It’s not as if we have an Amish community or something close to it.
Even then, the Amish would have heard of Michael Jackson, the Eiffel Tower, Elvis …and Pooh.
.
All I could think off hours later was accusatory thoughts of:
….How she has deprived her children.
.
….How she has stifled the retail industry.
….{especially the China bikin Thailand malee versions of Pooh with a tat too much turmeric on his fur}
.  
….How she could allow modern pop-culture not taint her.
….{and yet I can’t ‘forget’ my mobile for a day without being accused of things and called names!}
…. How could she not give this cuddly little bear incapable of offending anyone’s sensibility a chance.
….{it doesn’t matter that Pooh is stupid beyond belief and a lazy greedy-guts par excellence}
.
Having typed out my final point, well, perhaps it is best that she remains in her cocoon of ignorance. Her kids are probably the only ones growing up without a bad role model.
However, when I become a bear of very little brain {and I mean at least 50 times worse that me, pre-caffeine shots in the morning}, when I am dribbling and tied to my bed in an institution, I would want a thick, gentle and kind ‘guy’ by my side. Besides, Pooh sure is fatt {less one ‘t’}.
.
.
5 thoughts on “(trying) to end February with a ‘fatt’

  1. Hey Jon! 'pooh sticks' – the game pooh and his mates invented where standing on a bridge, they will drop their sticks into the flowing river than run to the other end of the width of the bridge to see whose stick passes through first – that's the winner.

Leave a Reply

