Work Diary | Day 3: ch3m1stry (make L0V3 not WAR)

.

He’s truly adorable. The quirky but sweet type.

“A Boy” as one of the course facilitators offered before I could blurt it out myself. Well, good for him – the facilitator. He derived much glee and thrill at ‘beating’ me at it. A point made evidently clear to me with a smirk that provided much insights and flashback of the facilitator as a boy who had just chomped down 3 hot dog, followed by a 3-second satisfying burb.
.

Well, on DAY one it felt like sexual harassment. 
It got rather unnecessarily physical on the coach. One sided of course.

DAY two was weird for me. 

Difficulty reconciling a Palestinian by birth (though now a citizen of one of those ex-Soviet Union countries that does not end with a –tan. ya know’ the Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan and the likes of the world) drinking like a fish and smokin’ like a chimney on fire.

The good news though was he kept his hands mostly to himself on DAY two, thanks to my momentary brain shut down that caused me to snap a “LEAVE-ME-ALONE”, minimizing activity to only having him tailing me around with a smile on his face all day.
Yeah, by then if was rather obvious to two-thirds of the class that: ah-ha! something’s brewing there
Not a difficult feat when there’s just 11 of us. So, minus me and Mr.Smitten-Palestinian-ex-Soviet Union Country without a -than Guy, that’s 6 out of 9 people watching the charade closely with great amusement.

DAY three 
By the draw of luck he was my learning partner for half a day.
Well, it’s hard enough to be within 25 meters radius area for 24 hours a day (yup, even in the hotel, he’s just two floors below), being 25 centimeters away is painfully ridiculous.
Nope. You did not misread the above and I did not make a mistake or typo.
It is twenty-five centimeters and let me explain how this is possible.


He on the left. Me on the right.

Right arm firmly placed against the back of my chair, leaning forward towards me with his head/face tilted and eyes staring intently … all of which, less than a foot away.

And whilst all this is happening and I am squirming in my seat, undecided how to handle the situation … my ridiculously MAD brain is churning out thoughts like:

is the subtle flaring of the nostril with every breath or the perpetual smile more irritating?

Nonetheless, this is definitely not the way to be observed 24-7 by a personal coach and fellow peers. This conclusion is a no-brainer and I can’t help thinking:

why? oh why? WHY do I need EXTRA challenges?

Anyway, I decided not to react.
I decided to ignore and avoid any eye contact.
So for 2 hours it was that.
For 2 hours we sat in that fashion.
2 hours it was that I ignored and focus on the curves in the book and the facilitator’s ‘dancing’ moves.

Then it suddenly struck me!

If I ever dated this guy (or boy)
{… though totally unlikely; but just entertain my brilliant light bulb moment which is a precious gem of a thought as it embraces political correctness and Nobel Peace Prize potential …}
… I would have dated guys on both sides of the Gaza strip. 
and with that flow of thought came the flashing light bulb … in the form of 4 little but profound words:
make L0V3, not WAR
.
.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

P/S: this exception had to be made on my earlier post HERE, of not commenting on participants before Day 4 … however, in any case, in the real world and real time, it’s way way beyond Day 3 by now.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

  .

.

7 thoughts on “Work Diary | Day 3: ch3m1stry (make L0V3 not WAR)

  1. One date at least. Dinner. Drinks.And you will be immortalised as our world peace keeper gal!lolWhere was this anyways? As in which country since I can't keep track of your whereabouts any more. Intentional?

Leave a Reply

