Travel Diary: … wassup Burma?

.
yet another one of those mysterious places that shouldn’t be all that difficult. I mean, the blardee Red Airlines flies there. This translates to ‘everyone can fly’!
… so wassup Burma with the VOA?
ok. I’ve been offered ‘Elections . Restriction . Journalist’ as explanations, which I’ve accepted with a graceful grunt, if at all that’s possible.

…so wassup with 3 different Burmese Embassy addresses in Malaysia?
… wassup with all the 9 lines found on the web that are all disconnected?
… wassup with the tmnet email address that bounces back with ‘user unknown’?
… wassup with the one and only communication device that seems to work?
(but I won’t know better since no one replied the fax I sent in)
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Point is:
how the heck am I going to secure a VISA?
Anyone? 
Any ideas please?
And no no no, I’m going way after the elections … hopeful a non-eventful (another predictable outcome one, you think?), so that I can go thereafter.
Lastly, phew! as I was searching the net for ways to get-me-hands-on-a-visa, I stumbled upon a site that says internet connections have been suspended since the 1990s … only to google and have wiki confirmed that they have reinstated it (with restrictions and Big Brother looking over) in 2000 … phew!  (again) though I wonder what I would say with someone breathing down my neck!

Group: ViewsAsia
Credit: WONSOO
Source: The Chosun Ilbo – Seoul, South Korea
Keywords: MYANMAR MILITARY FOOT BLOGGERS INTERNET CENSORSHIP
Provider: CartoonArts International / The New York Times Syndicate   (Cartoons – Views Asia) Download 433K
.

.

This is going to be an interesting one.
Burma that is…
Lugging around 13 kgs of ‘bodies’, ‘glasses’ and audio equipment better be worth my while.
.

.

11 thoughts on “Travel Diary: … wassup Burma?

  1. firstly, NO dramas!!!exactly my thot abt uncle aunties all going and some more the el cheapo red airlines fly rite?but visa on arrival suspended till further notice – must be coz of the elections.various suppose-ed Myanmar embassy contacts are:8C Jln Ampang Hilir, 55000 KLTel: (603) 4251 5595 / 4455 / 6355No. 10 Jalan Mengkuang, Off Jalang Ru, 55000 Tel: (603) 42560280, 42570680 (no. yg anda dial telah ditamatkan perkhidmatan)Fax: (603) 425683202A Grb Ampang Hilir, 55000 KLFax: 4251 0759 (only one that rings)No phone number givenbe my guest and call them … then tell me how.:p

Leave a Reply

