‘Portraits of Power’, BP Portrait Award, me taking Portraits …

.
Taken during a United Nations meeting in New York by The New Yorker staff photographer, Platon, ‘Portraits of Power’ strikes a cord with me… which, admittedly is some what strange as I am not one for smack-up-front-posie-pose-portraits, with the exception of Andrzej Dragan. And that too is simply because of the “Draganize”effect he has signature-d as his, in as much as David Hill has with his digital darkroom manipulations; artistic effects I can accept as art.
This again is surprising given that I am not a big believer let alone fan of anything done with Photoshop other than dodging and burning, and perhaps ‘pumping’ up saturation a little when uploading photos on the web. 
So maybe being a ‘paper’ snob, {though I will protest against this vehemently if you were to ask me point blank, face-to-face, or accuse me of it} I appreciate Andrzej Dragan for his ‘paper’ and brains. Or perhaps the irony of a physicist taking up the camera instead.
Though not much of a portrait person, I recently visited the National Portrait Gallery in London in search of works by Frank Auerbach; that for some strange reason I had assumed dead. 
Besides, being a trip where most spare time in London was spent in Galleries and Museums (other than hunting stuff and running errands in New Bond Street), I took the opportunity to witness with my own eyes what the hype of the ‘ipod girl’ submission in this year’s BP Portrait Award. 
On this front, it was a lovely painting. A large one if I may add.
I had much prefer the other portrait that had little vermilion-colour-schemed Monet type impressionist style of the artist’s son who often told his dad to draw him reallyx3 BIG – I obviously have no recollection of the name of the art piece or the artist.   

Anyways, enjoy the collection of photos from the ‘Portraits of Power’ photo project, while I turn in for the day, feeling rather pleased that at least I could ‘spin’ this as the beginning of my research for my following destination. Have been told that I’ve to take a few portraits here and there. Not my thing. But nonetheless, missy Perfectionist Penelope must be Prepared.

Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)
Portraits of World Leaders (49 pics)

.
.
6 thoughts on “‘Portraits of Power’, BP Portrait Award, me taking Portraits …

Leave a Reply

