errr… library sciences existed for a good reason

.
Today would normally have been classified as a great day … usually only to be regretted when the credit card bill arrives. 5 books + 14 magazines were bagged, all in less than 3 hours, with lunch thrown in.
As a filial daughter, I had driven my mother to meet her friend. 
The 67 y.o. one that comes once a year from the Lake District. 
The one that had honeymooned in Greenland glacier trekking at 60 y.o.
The one who has scaled Everest countless of time.
The one who has K2 under his belt!
The lunch meeting went well, with a few punctuated awkward silence here and there, of which I did my best to fill with ethusiastic enquiries about caving and sharing my experience caving.
“What mr. K2 conquerer does not know, won’t kill him”, was my mantra since my ‘caving’ experience was walking along concrete slabs and stairs with well bolted metal rails in Mulu and Gua Tempurung, with the occasional wandering off the tourist demarcated area to touch some slimy gluey stuff on the cave walls or dip my hands in the icy cold water flowing through, plus the not so cool experience of placing an almost crushed bat away from potential tourist trampede. Just so you know, I had not stomped on the bat. That silly-sleepy-bony-flimsy-filmy-feeling creature fell on my shoulder and amazingly broke its fall on my flat bosom. 
Point is I frankly think caving is a non-sensible sport.
Firstly, who in the right frame of mind would decide to dive into an unmarked hole to discover what’s there? totally ignoring potential rattle snakes {ok – noted, they only exists in the Americas – I think and hell no way am I going to do a research on rattle  snakes to get my facts straight}.
Secondly, why would anyone with acrophobia (fear of height), achluophobia (fear of darkness), anemophobia (fear of air drafts or wind!), blennophobia (fear of slime), chiroptophobia (fear of bats), and claustrophobia (fear of cramped spaces) plus a whole host of other fear would want to do caving?

Oh yes, this is one sport that has countless of phobias attached to it, possibly the most. And having a combination of a few of those phobia at varying intensity, I insanely and willfully subjectted myself to caving – not once, but twice!

Anyways, after a rather brain taxing lunch, I visited my once ‘treasure trove’ – the suburban bookshop I found a couple of years back with insurmountable collection of books that no one wants at dirt cheap prices {*read HERE}

This was my second time around since they expanded and moved … my experience unfortunately had not improved the second time around and if anything, it may well be the last time for as long as I do have books coming from India and/or an alternative cheaper source. 
The fact that it has expanded meant the little secret is neither ‘little’ nor ‘secret’ any more.
But the fact that it’s 5 times its original size, thereby losing its comfy, cosy, musty bookshop feel is not the main deterrent. 
Other than the one annoying teen that must have thought she has the world’s most beautiful and sculptured legs to wear micro shorts that barely covered the folds that demarcates the boundary where one’s check butt ends and thighs begin, and had her wavy long hair swaying as she moved with the rhythm from her ipod, while she pulls out every single book on the shelf to check out its cover before deciding if it was worth her while to read the author’s name and synopsis … I was seriously o.k. with the crowd {and this is considered a major accomplishment on my account!}
but, the thing that really irked me was the way the books were catalogue-d and index-ed! 
LITERARY . GENERAL FICTION . CRIME/WAR/HORROR . CHIC FLICK . ROMANCE . BIOGRAPHY/MEMOIRS . NON FICTION . LITERARY NON FICTION

I am confused.
For instance, where would “Perfect Hostage: Aung San Suu Kyi, Burma and the Generals” by Justin Wintle be categorised? NON-FICTION? LITERARY NON-FICTION? BIOGRAPHY / MEMOIRS
And would a book like Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat Pray Love” be catalogue-d under CHIC FLICK or ROMANCE or even GENERAL FICTION???

I gave up … before I even got Guglu’s sms confirming that it’s William Dalrymple – the name that never seems to register, hence his books does not make the list below.


I gave up … before I even got past 5 books: 

Perfect Hostage: Aung San Suu Kyi, Burma and the General by Justine Wintle
Freedom: Short Stories Celebrating the Universal Declaration of Human Rights for Amnesty International
The Bookseller of Kabul by Åsne Seierstad
{beware of the buckets of tears I shall shed – I am allergic to anything Afghanistan including my late dog, a handsome Afghan Hound}

The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho
{purely to know what my ‘brother’ is going on and on and on about Coelho}
The Year of Yes by Maria Headley
{(gulp) I think I NEED it – kindda at the marriage-singleton crossroad at the moment} 



Seriously!
There is NO need to be OVER creative.
CREATIVITY is COUNTER INTUITIVE here!
Standards exists for a reason.
And here’s one good reason; even if book cataloging and library sciences does not share the same seriousness as the metrics system to fall under the International Standards, hey look here mate, there is still an internationally practiced and accepted standards being used universally. Please … I beg you, JUST FOLLOW!  
.
.
5 thoughts on “errr… library sciences existed for a good reason

  1. I suppose we can stretch it anyways and hence it was a really stupid way to organise the book shelf. Maybe it's their way to make you browse longer and make impulsive buys.Ben, please reread your first comment! :p

Leave a Reply

