transiting 2010-2011 with T.S. Spivet

.
Having binged on fiction for months now {agreed! kindda staid and boring} and later devouring two Lonely Planets – every leaf mindcha … I finally caved in and made time for a non-fiction – “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet”.
Admittedly I knew nothing about the author – Reif Larsen – prior to this. 
And in my typical fashion… 
I was enthralled by the book’s cover. 
Mind you, it wasn’t even the funky one of the dead sparrow in the rosewood tray … rather a cheaper paper back version of probably 125 gms paper with one-colour printing as its cover.

As for the 398 pages itself, oh boy! they sure reminded me of my primary school examination papers!!! What inferior and vial smelling paper that must have some genetically engineered cross between onion paper {how did this come about? I grew up believing it’s from the onion shavings – or is it?}  and crepe paper?!??!?! 

 .

Yup… I got the one on the RIGHT ->  well, that’s the only one they had anyways…
And in my typical fashion… 
I was turned-off. 
But true to my Chinese genes of being able to maximise the projection of any numerals when a currency symbol is placed in front of the numerals, I decided to ‘cave in’ when I spotted the “30% discount sticker with any other purchase” on the book. Technically, if I got the magazine I had come to collect in the first place, the 30% discount automatically offsets the cost of the magazine… or so goes the persuasive logic of getting “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet” which I had half suspected I would not go beyond chapter 2.
But I was wrong.
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
.
The story is simple enough: 
T. S. {Tecumseh Sparrow}, a science genius and compulsive cartographer who lives with his family of mixed nuts on a Montana ranch, wins a prestigious Smithsonian science award {except, the museum doesn’t know he’s only 12 years old} and hops an industrial rail to start a new life in DC. 
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

.

so what’s the deal?
The writing is incredulously rich … naturally rendering it impossible to be the narration of a 12 year old or one that is written for 12 year olds. But nonetheless, the fact that T.S. Spivet brims with idiosyncrasies goes well with me and the fact that he’s so aware of the world and its uniqueness makes him impossibly endearing. 
But here’s the icing that totally got to me: 
ONE
T. S.’s every digression, aside, distraction, and tangential musing is drawn – by him, naturally – in the margins of almost every page; his father’s long sips of whiskey over seconds elapsed, a pie chart depicting “The Four Components of Adventure” {guns and knives, magnifying glasses, adventure pants—and, of course, a map!}… as well as emotional heart tugging sketches of regular things that reminds him of his late brother Layton.
TWO
I cannot believe this! (un)REAL
My favourite Moby Dick quote – yes, shoot me, I read the damn whale-book.
.

THREE

Besides finding Reif Larsen a tat cute (well, boyish), the very fact that he’s only 28 years old makes it jaw dropping when one considers the following:

  1. this is his debut novel
  2. Penguin purportedly advanced him close to a million for this – his first ever attempt of a novel
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

.

Perhaps T.S. Spivet is Larsen’s alter ego … perhaps
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

.

And with this … here’s why I do not believe in reflecting on pass year’s achievements when the year draws to the end or come up with resolutions, ‘to do lists’, ‘goals’ … etc. It merely serves as a reminder of how insignificant I am. Can be. Is. Was.
But being full of contradictions, allow me this little luxury of a small mention that I successfully lost  (and maintained the lost of) 5kgs in 2010… which I had been advised by those in “white coats” that the weight lost will relief some pain and discomfort from my patella and the ‘cushions’, thereby delaying the need to get some serious medical attention. 
Well, bollocks!
It still hurts as {insert your own colourful word HERE}.
I still know when it’s gonna rain.
hmmm… maybe I should squeeze a Himalayan trek some time between now and then … before the dreadful day of them being cut open and probed… maybe.
.
.
check out “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet”official website HERE
.
.
2 thoughts on “transiting 2010-2011 with T.S. Spivet

  1. Happy New Year babe!Go on! Trek and scale all the peaks you want and bust the damn thing before you go under the bright lights.All the best and oh, do NOT keep us posted on your treks and adventures. So jealous.

Leave a Reply

