Work Diary: moving on …

.
2nd December 2011
goodbye Al Rajhi Bank Malaysia …
.
{the joke below is probably really passé but I thought it was hilarious enough to leave my Al Rajhi-an ‘family’ behind with …}
.
Young Chuck moved to Texas and bought a donkey from a farmer for $100. The farmer agreed to deliver the donkey the next day. The next day the farmer drove up and said, ‘Sorry Chuck, but I have some bad news, the donkey died.’
.
Chuck replied, ‘Well, then just give me my money back.’
.
The farmer said, ‘Can’t do that. I went and spent it already.’
.
Chuck said, ‘OK, then, just bring me the dead donkey.’
.
The farmer asked, ‘What ya gonna do with a dead donkey?
.
  
Chuck said, ‘I’m going to raffle him off.’
.
The farmer said ‘You can’t raffle off a dead donkey!’
.
Chuck said, ‘Sure I can. Watch me. I just won’t tell anybody he’s dead.’
A month later, the farmer met up with Chuck and asked, ‘What happened with that dead donkey?’
.
Chuck said, ‘I raffled him off. I sold 500 tickets at two dollars apiece and made a profit of $898.00.’
.
The farmer said, ‘Didn’t anyone complain?’
.
Chuck said, ‘Just the guy who won. So I gave him his two dollars back.’
.
Chuck now works for a Bank.
{well truthfully, you are left with this lousy joke primarily because I accidentally deleted a really nice photo, which I obviously do not have a copy of it on me! … that’s the peril and risk of blogging too many drafts and letting it ‘sit’ in queue}
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
.

In any case, that {the above} was purely for laughs.
I am not dishing my ex-employer or the industry.
Seriously every where is the same. One way or the other, it all balances out.
Take for example the new place …
.

on Day 2 @ the new place I messaged “grandpa Robsie”:
“GOD! I cannot work here. We are responsible for mutating the chickens of the world and many other gene genocide with GMO induced substances and chemicals. {insert name of cigarette company (which I was briefly attached to in my past life)} déjà vu”
.. 
.
He replied:
“lol! This sounds like a Wallace & Grommit episode.”… followed by wisdom of how we are actually helping to make food production faster and more affordable to feed the world. And besides he adds, GMO food do not kill people like cigarettes do.
.
true …I know all of that.
 b..bbbBUT… my chicken ban stands. Same applies to any funky looking vegetables.
.
But it all voices down to how long can I sustain myself really?
My organic dried snack foods are fast running low.
I ate the entire pack of millet with seaweed wrap in less than an hour…
I am painfully rationing my 5-grain cracker and muttering swears under my breath for misplacing the dried fruit and nuts bag.
.
I feel worst that an alcoholic with withdrawal syndrome when I have to mentally stop myself from over consuming my water kefir beverage. No, it’s not because of the 1% alcoholic content in it. Rather, I fear the water kefir grains (friendly bacteria) are put under too much duress and strain to produce continuous yummy carbonated drinks for me.

And with water kefir … my stock of Maikabari Organic Green Tea pales in comparison.
.
With a day that starts with me battling the temptations of snuggling in further under my blanket at 5:30 a.m., I am famish by 10:32 a.m., give or take 10 minutes. My liquid breakfast diet that had served me fine for more than 2 decades is not holding up in this environment. This, I gather is partly due to the fact that I am forced to face with a hard decision of deciding on my one real solid meal for the day – lunch – at 9:00 a.m. purely to meet the delivery time of 12:30 p.m., give or take 10 minutes. This morning ritual I reckon possibly activates my brain and gastric juices to an overdrive mode, thereby resulting in the temptation and need to fuel the body with some carbo and sugar by mid-morning; else my eyelids naturally transforms into shutter doors made of the thickest nuclear resistant steel and concrete.  
.
yes, admittedly I am seriously NOT a morning person …
{unless we are talking real early and by that I mean anything between 12:00:01 to circa 02:00:00}
Or unless there’s a winged metal ‘bird’ that I need to chase … or when oxygen deprived and when altitude sickness have overtaken the brain … ah ha! that’s when I rise early.
Else, feggettit! I ain’t NO morning person…
.
At the new place, it’s not an option.
It’s a question of how long I’ll be able to heck it.
.
Doesn’t help that I sit in a “cave” 12 hours a day, give or take 15 minutes; void of any mobile telephone connectivity and restricted Internet {read: cultural dessert}
.
The ‘cave syndrome’! has also made me craved for non-sensible short messages from various Telco carriers, banks, boutiques, embassy alerts … things that used to irritate me to high heavens especially when I am driving.
.
And oh, lastly the ‘cave’ is surprisingly cold.
And by cold, I mean the bbrrrr… bbrrrr… type cold.
The type where penguins thrive and grow fat! which by the way it’s a fallacy that the cold makes you burn fat and therefore lose weight – there is seriously no correlation what-so-ever and I’ve been a test tube now for over 10 solid >12 hours day. If you doubt me, oh well, perform an easy experiment: flip your television channel to National Geographic or Discovery and wait till you get some animal coverage on penguins, seals, walrus, polar bears … need I go on? {smirk}
.
I’ll be signing in more … or not.
Depending on how miserable I get.
Miserable dramatic works – there will be more dramatic, Ally McBeal type imaginations and prose.
Miserable depression is a no go … but perhaps, it will curb the appetite and weight gain.
.
.
6 thoughts on “Work Diary: moving on …

  1. ahhh… just bear with it for 3 months. And if you heck it, change the culture. Come in at 9 am. Or shall I say "share-shay in" at 9-ish am.:)You are legendary!!!!

Leave a Reply

