Work Diary: yes, iQuit

Geez!
It gets cynically interesting by the day.

Ever since I stepped out of the plane and re-hooked with the ‘world’, I’ve been receiving sms-es {even way into the night} on enquiries if I have left my job? if I am still employed? where am I employed now?
What’s ‘disturbing’ about the messages and the phone calls received so far are:
  • at least a third of the people are my nemesis {in my books at least, they haven’t been very nice to me in the past … and on some occasions vice versa! – I am human and fall into temptations to commit some ‘immortal’ sins when pushed too far},
  • a quarter being people I don’t really know, hence don’t talk to much other than the once a year “Happy New Year” customary mass sms-es sent out only to profit the telcos, or the out of the blue I need to talk to you cause I shamelessly need your help,
  • a quarter are people who have vested financial interest in my employed status – one of which had said it in my face that he’d rather have me in business than a ‘competitor’ {men should really have larger b@$$ and stop feeling insecured}. This however excludes one particular consultant that had said similar things in my face but the underlying message and intend was very different and I appreciated it, 
  • the marginal remaining folks were just neutral folks that ‘heard’ about it and their nosy urges far outweigh the fact that they are making telcos mindlessly richer with their actions.
What’s ‘interesting’ about all of these are:

  1. many, many people are keeping track of job sites and looking out for opportunities themselves, and 
  2. they don’t make headhunters today like they used to. Where’s decorum? Where’s confidentiality?
In any case, yes, iQuit and here’s why … straight from the horse’s mouth.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

FACT:
I spend 4 hours a day on average on the road, commuting from my home to work.
Yes, 4 hours.
Now, if I put it another way, 22.2% of my waking hours is spent in traffic.
This compares to 25% of my time taken up by sleep and 0.83% of the time I take to nourish myself; two fundamentals for sustenance.
WORK?
Work takes 61% of my waking hours.
OK. There’s nothing seriously extraordinary when it comes to putting in a 55 – 60 hours work week for most profession, more so in Asia.
But when it’s seriously WORK; i.e. a task. a chore. a job. in a cold, bitter, negative and blaming culture, that’s spending more than half of my waking hours in hell
Factor in the 4 hours of effort, stress, frustration and mind numbing exercise of getting myself to work, that’s: 
83.33% of my waking hours devoted to the activity of getting myself employed.
Add in the other crucial activities that surrounds decent sustenance like toilet breaks, showers, some vanity upkeeps needed from time to time, there is seriously no time for any PERSONAL life.
There is NO life – period.
Though I have refined the art of utilizing the 2-1/2 hours of morning commute time well {the other 1-1/2 hours cannot be utilised as God had made it impossible with the sun setting – even the sun gets some rest and have a life!}, I had long decided that I’d rather traverse the Silk Road (with time to spare in between) yearly than to spend
 40 solid 24-hour days in traffic a year … 
And with that, yes, iQuit my job.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
If you think it’s lame, be it.

I don’t. And that is of utmost importance.

I am no longer humoured or interested in reading 500+ news headlines, funny quotes, profound thoughts etc. on Twitter.
I am posting way too much frivolous updates on Facebook.
I have read books and toss them at the back of my car, which by now weighs a good 40 kilos {and obviously have no time and energy to remove them}, thereby burning more fuel and emitting more toxic substances into the air.
I am seriously crossing the line of indulging in obesity inducing activities with the amount of Lays I consume in the car …

and heck, I cracked the Rubik’s cube over 2 days in traffic!!! rendering me very bored now.

So, yes, iQuit my job.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The decision was easy when the drudgery of it dragged me down to a very dark place … questioning the need to live and the Heavenly God’s purpose of placing me on this earth and breathing life into me daily.
.
.
.
To put it simply, 
……………i chose Happiness
……………i chose Life.
………………………. . .   so..iQuit
.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

It wasn’t one of those soul searching: should iQuitmy{dreadful}Job? moment or phase.
Though interestingly as I was looking for a quirky graphics to accompany this blog entry and I found two interesting sites:
I Want to Quit My Job! A Complete Guide to Resigning 
{link HERE. Cannot guarantee or recommend as I didn’t bother to read it}

Alankar Vishal, an illustrator 
{link HERE. I’m using his infographics below}
.
..
.
Also to throw in a spinner, I have included the “maths” of time spent working and work-related activities in my upcoming conference session slot … hmmm …. we’ll see how happy we are after all! The “maths” illuminating … as they say, let the numbers do the talking.
.
.
.

13 thoughts on “Work Diary: yes, iQuit

  1. Thanks Amie – am glad to have striked a cord with you and I wish you the best. In any case, things always works out one way or the other and one's view of happiness is different from the other, so is achievements etc. Life by your rules and as long as you have the support (emotional, financial) from the most important people around you, it will be ok to go down the discovery. Better to know once and for all, learn from mistakes (if any) and improve till it works out the way you want it to be.andy88vagabond-ing for the moment … then some self sustainenance work {bills gotta be paid!}, and concurently building the future.

  2. Thanks for this post.It's illuminating and I am a mother of 4 young children with maid issues, mother in law issues, school issues and a very ridiculous boss who is married without kids that only bosses people around without clear instructions and direction.I live 40 km away and it takes me hours to get to work to. I am definitely looking for change. People tell me career and money is important and I am being stupid.But isn't being a good mother important too? Can't people see that being a mother and a homemaker a career as well? Our achievements are when the children gets good grades or are well behave.Commuting less and taking a pay cut will justify the cost saved working nearby. I won't have the social pressure of having nice clothes and handbags and eating in fancy places. Thanks again for the post.Amie

Leave a Reply

