African Diary: my bon bons in the wild

If you must really know …

uh huh, you’d be surprised by the ratio of emails received on Africa with regards to the toilets I have received! Interestingly only 2 request on the itinerary, which I will duly comply with once the mojo kicks in.
.
Currently I am distracted with updating my long overdue Penelope Gan | Photoblog. I noticed that I tend to get more diligent as I approach the fourth quarter of every year … uploading 1 to 2 posts per week and then {unable to kick-off my OCD} I’ll re-organised them according to themes and an entry every Wednesday.
.
I think it’s partly because my renewal occurs circa August every year and I am jolted by the fact that a year had gone by and I had not utilised it very much; i.e. could have average down the cost by publishing more.

.

I think it’s partly because I tend to get reminded about expiring frequent flyer miles, credit card points {transferable to miles}, and the onslaught of Last Minute GREAT SAVINGS!!! Summer Vacation Deals as August draws to the end.
.
All of which reminds me that it’s time to plan for the upcoming year, which incidentally causes regret as I still have 2 to 3 years backlog of vacation photos to process and personal projects to view.
.
It’s also the time of the year where I scout for pro bono projects to do, causes to support and avenues/ ideas to raise funds. I’ll talk about the latter in a later blog; being inspired by a BBM exchange with a multiple award winning journalist in a far flung corner of the world where in the world of budget cuts and austerity drive due to the situation in the Western world, his stories on real grass root issues are swapped with sensationalised headlines grabbing, celebrity borderline tabloid type news that generates advertisement revenues. Sigh!
.
The idea was reinforced with me meeting up with two amazingly quick witted guys with a big heart from the UK who have spent the last 13 months on their journey on bicycles across 22 countries covering 250,000 kilometers to raise awareness and funds for War Child.
{read about it and their adventure at The Cycle Diaries}
More about my meeting with them later as well.

For now, it’s about a pictorial review of how my bon bons were treated in the wild …

.

© Penelope Haque – All Rights Reserved
An open air toilet {and shower} concept in a camping ground in Botswana … au naturale with no doors too! Paper is kept dry in the “postbox” … and if you need to be at it rather long, there’s a metal flag with a lever to tilt at the “entrance” and metal sculpture of animals to be amused by.

© Penelope Haque – All Rights Reserved
Circular thatched roof communal toilets and shower with free condoms at the wash basin areas …

.

© Penelope Haque – All Rights Reserved

So, all in, it was rather rustic and very clean … sure not gleaming, disinfected clean with Kohl finishing as the top of the end luxury lodges would have.
.
However, thank the Heavenly Gods that when the imminent need hit me – thanks to my momentary stupidity of consuming fruit salad with semi melted vanilla ice cream at a safari style buffet under the starry stars – I had the good fortune of traveling through some towns before hitting Kruger National Park gates. Promptly, I swapped my useless Pulas for Rand at the American Express outlet {which was anything but prompt}, dashed for the pharmacy and “flew” at top speed to the loo!
.
Why the heck did they need to cage up my Imodium remains a mystery … and never had I felt such urgency to rip open a cage as much as I did on that faithful day!

.

© Penelope Haque – All Rights Reserved

Help within reach … and yet not! Apparently buying OTC drugs, is not terribly over-the-counter in South Africa!!!

© Penelope Haque – All Rights Reserved

ahhhhh…. civilisation! It’s dry, there’s paper and it actually smells pleasant!
{totally over sharing here}
.
3 thoughts on “African Diary: my bon bons in the wild

Leave a Reply

