8 diverging POVs on digital age entrepreneurship

A few days ago I was asked if I had any advice for young entrepreneurs in one of those bedroom-to-bedroom low quality video and audio recording interviews.

The person asking me those questions is a young entrepreneur himself (i.e. those who gets me  retching when I spot the first three numbers in the year they were born; i.e. “198”-x).

He’s in the business of utilizing social media to assist and market other entrepreneurs… but {refer to point #3 below} 

What was interesting is the following facts below – during the course of the ‘interview’ – got my eyeballs rolling (notwithstanding I roll my eyes a lot!) and me realizing the age gap between us and hence the difference in our respective point of views (POVs):

point #1
Google Earth vs. Conference Calling 
He was trying to get me onto Google Earth to conduct an interview – seriously what the heck is Google Earth? Too embarrassed to admit my ignorance, too lazy to discover it and not wanting yet another application installed to vacuum away more of my already limited time, I suggested conference calling. Finally two generations met at a mutual grown called “the land of Skype”.

point #2
Pinterest did not P{ique my}Interest 
I was lectured on my non-existence on Pinterest.
I was given an elaborate spill of why Pinterest will augur well with my target market; and promptly he sent across a link with a simple infographic supporting his arguments. 

Wait. 
The infographic was from one of his website’s blog.

Wait. 
He didn’t create the infographic; just re-blogged, which means many others are pique by Pinterest.  

{OK to be fair, I am/ was pique by Pinterest’s logo. I love the font. I never realised I am a font-spacing person until el Jobso (God Bless him) died}

Truth be told, I wished I had created Pinterest.
Bummer!!!
point #3
Social networking means exactly that!
In just 31 mins : 24 sec of being “hooked” up with otherwise an utter stranger, he lets on that he’s not too keen on a mutual acquaintance;  one that has, like it or not, carved a name in the social networking, social-entrepreneur, young-entrepreneur, go-2-guy if you want to create a big BANG introductory of self or cause or venture in the webbed-digital space. A household name in this arena, if you like.
In this arena where network matters, the more social-able you are, the more “pixel time” you get.
So dish-ing others is really not the game. 
More so a household name in the local scene.
While the prize is evident, what’s the price of being social?
A few seconds of your time. 
A few muscle twitching to click the ‘mouse’, Ctrl C + Ctrl V to copy each other’s links.
That simple … and oh, biting one’s tongue.

point #4
Forums … (are) for???
I don’t get forums.
I don’t waste time there.
Mostly opinionated people who have not mustered the art of bitting one’s tongue resides there.
Sure, he argues that it’s a platform to encourage two-way conversations and customer-to-customer endorsement and word of mouth. I agree. But I can’t let this go by, by not highlighting that there are lot’s of noise to go through before getting to the crux of it.
I’ve shut ours down.
Then, I outsourced it.
I’m not one to moderate fights.
I’m a Libran.
I don’t want a forum. Period.
I’m not saying I will NEVER have a forum.
When the need arises and the returns overshadows the ‘pain’, I will be the first to embrace it.
Until then … 

point #5

e-Biz is the future
e-Biz is just a channel. Everything else around it is a fad.
This is synonymous with the brick-and-mortar physical business with multitude of latest  management thinking and business ‘tools’.
Fundamentally, at the very core lies the same business acumen needed.
The same attitudes and strategies.
The same risk-benefit, cost-returns.
e-Biz is just faster and wider.
As with machineries revolutionising the industrial age with faster productions and further market expansions with the growth of logistics.  
Like the industrial age, then the knowledge management era, this is another phase that undergoes Darwin’s natural selection … move on and embrace without letting off a firm foothold of the ground and you won’t be another sorry fossil. 

point #6

profits matter 

Ahhh… who wouldn’t want them?

But where’s the case for social establishments? 
What’s truly important is: cash flow 
Every Accounting 101 student will tell ya that!
It’s all about sustainability with the old adage of the last one standing; not the highest margins. not the biggest ‘kill’.

point #7
sell services to win
Like the Grade 4s lemonade stand, the most prevalent business amongst college kids since the 1960s are in no order of priority: t-shirt, pizza and inter-varsity thesis writing/ plagiarism. I won’t go into the latter but suffice to say I could afford to lose my scholarship and still pay my college fees.  
The borderless, digital world have added some colour with service based business with web-site design, IT  programming, copy writing and editorial (including content generation for websites and blogs), and arms-length consulting (including bookkeeping, legal services, HR services) topping the list. 
With both over-saturating the market, and thus a squeeze in margins, let’s just say being in the latter is more problematic as it is an intellectual-embedded knowledge/ skills and experience game which will wind you up with scalability challenges.

point #8
time management is crucial to success
There’s really no concept of time management. 
Just sacrifices.
The clock ticks on … you can only ‘manage’ it so much.
But you CAN trade some stuff off for others whom you prioritise.
fact is:
I’ve not seen a movie in ages.
I’ve not read a friction in ages.
I watch, hear and read summaries of everything … 
I’ve not gone out and do nothing for kicks.
I had to think for 5 minutes what was the one fun thing I did over the weekend when the question was posed to me… 
fact is
there’s not one weekend I am not working professionally.

– – –  the interview Q+As to follow – – – 

4 thoughts on “8 diverging POVs on digital age entrepreneurship

  1. Hi Anon,Yes to the question.No for this blog.The revenue from blogging comes from both direct and indirect sources. So what you're mentioning are mostly leaning towards direct sources and it's the easiest way to set up but hardest to get great money. At best, it buys you a Starbucks a month. I kid you not!!!Then of course blogs like this is about intrinsic value to self.Cheers!

  2. Do you make money blogging?A lot of people claims to but I notice they sell tips and books and services plus have annoying amounts of advertisement. There's none of these here or in your scrapbooking blogs.

  3. you must be right kc … heck, you are right.what do I know?Just realised how "dinosaur" I had become when I asked the Starbucks barista a series of questions with regards to the discount card and got her to register me on the spot coz no way will I ever get around to doing it on my own on their website!

Leave a Reply

