a dachshund memory = maira kalman + kate spade + rakuten

{be warned . this is a rather girlish entry . enuf said}

My weekend {or whatever is left of it, not counting} was a disaster.
It all started with a memory being evoked recently by a silly four {way too short} legged mammal with a {way too long} body wagging its tail and looking mournfully at me.
There’s just something about dachshunds I can’t put my finger on.
And if my OCD isn’t bad enough, the mis-wiring of my brain got me thinking down the lines of Maira Kalman … and naturally Kate Spade. Oh yes, I do recall my obsession with Maira Kalman’s Kate Spade or Kate Spade’s Maira Kalman whichever way you want to look at it.
BOTTOMLINE: it was a great partnership.
The only thing not-so-great about the entire incident was me.
I was dumb.
I should have just settled for both. the baby blue. and the fuchsia.
end of story
Life’s really too short for regrets. 
More so when it comes to totes. 
Totes with a sketch that somewhat resembles a dog on it.

Sketches by Maira Kalman and a Kate Spade Advert – what I found on the internet while trying to look for the Maira Kalman-Kate Spade tote picture …


and I finally found a photo in my archive of my “brother”s Jake Spade and my darling Kalman side by side taken on a lazy weekend afternoon in my patio while we drank tea with mom.



Noted, it was a substantially larger proportion of my monthly pay cheque back then, but … great things don’t come along often. And to continue to habour regrets some 5 years later … that’s pathologically sick.
Sure, I’m known to be the kind of lazy shopper where if something fits well or tickles my fancy, I’d get all the reasonably acceptable colours there are. I own at least 4 identical black pants of the same cutting that fits well multiply by 4 different cuttings, 8 pencil cut dresses in different shades of grey and subtle variations like pin stripes on them, strings of pearls of same diameter and lengths in 3 different shades … and if you recall the identical Gucci handbags that travelled from Italy to London to Malaysia and back to London to end up in the garbage heap
But bags being bags, I never repeated the Gucci 2-in-1 purchase purely because I had forgotten in the first place I had a black version of the Gucci bag when I bought the ivory version!
I digress
The point was, as my brain had it, the dachshund got me down an obsessive path of:

 “I must get the Kate Spade Faylyn”
So for the entire lousy weekend I searched the physical stores for a Faylyn.
I search the website for aggregate shopping sites that would send stuff to Malaysia for a Faylyn.
I found these two … the only problem is I’m not willing to dish out close to MYR 1,000 for a pair of thongs and I doubt I’d ever wear a shoe with a heal that Louboutin makes for Lady Gaga; although noted this is not as ludicrous! I had wanted the ballet flats Faylyn … badly, but alas it wasn’t meant to be.
While searching for the desired Faylyn online, I stumbled upon Rakuten. A site that appears to be eBay gone wriggly with a different colour palette.
But that’s not the interesting bit.
Hours letter I received an email from a rep of Rakuten in Malaysia requesting a meeting on some business prospects involving Scrap-n-Crop.com. The details I am vague, at the moment.
With a meeting scheduled in a few days, I sure am checking the site out again in search of Faylyn … oh how I desire thee!
Speaking of desire … and desiring {material} stuff here’s something from Maira Kalman. Note the dachshund!
One thought on “a dachshund memory = maira kalman + kate spade + rakuten

Leave a Reply

