one year older, one bucket list tick-ed

When you get to a certain age, it’s just a number.

Interesting observation on the number of well wishers though. Social media mostly. Not surprising – it cost just a micro second of one’s life to click the Like button or 30 seconds to to type a short wish.

Some long distant chats perk the day up.

An awkward meeting with an extremely critical CEO ended up being bizarre-ly weird and awkward in the presence of my Country Manager – a deliberate move. And I can’t be more thankful for it.

And finally, after numerous marathon nights post the trip from Europe, I was relieved to have met the Travelogue dateline; not the number of pages, not the original story line.

I had almost resigned to fate when at 11:42pm the servers hung.

The MacBook Pro (that’s due to see Dr. Mac) proceeds to crash soon after.

And at 11:58pm the time indicated to complete the upload was still fluctuating between 9 minutes, 14 minutes, 32 minutes, 18 minutes … thanks to my unreliable broadband. By 1:32 am time was still ticking and I was far from done; sick of the fluctuations that gave me no comfort.

I slept. “It’s a long hectic day tomorrow,” I thought.

At 3:29 am I was woken up by a blinding light and a “zing” type ping noise – indicating it had gone across / or maybe not.

I turned over and slept. Hoping for the best.

I heard nothing the next day. And the next. And the next next …

On 3rd October, I get a note that all is well.

On 5th October, away from home on a work assignment, I receive a note that a copy has been sent across … and here’s the copy …

One 2013 To Dos completed.

Yet another Bucket List ticked off.

,

Leave a Reply

