what happened to ‘fullstop’…

{this blog post is likely to have loads of grammatical, typo and spelling error – but common’ you’ll get the drift when you read – i’ve not slept much – from not having a choice to now being an insomniac} 

I reviewed a 32 page slide report today. Nothing rocket science. Well, it really depends on who I assign the work to, and if I recall correctly just 17 hours before I reviewed that deck, I had woken up in cold sweat shouting:

“NO!!!! YOU CAN’T DESIGN A SALARY STRUCTURE LIKE THAT!!!!”

I know. It’s pathetic. My life have been reduced to a semi-conscious shaking leaf over some table with numbers in them. I really need to get hold of myself.

But the point is, at page 28 … my heart took a leap! My fingers appeared to unconsciously grip the lime green roller ball pen in my hand harder. The vein that runs along my temples starts pumping more blood. WHAT IS THAT?!? WHY THE {blip} IS IT THERE? I put a huge circle around it and scribbled a note that goes like this:

FULL STOP!!! Why is there a full stop here?

32 pages with no full stop, but one?!?

Please remove and be consistent!

hmmm… Was it because this was the error of the very same associate that keeps me awake with potentially bad work? Was it because this is someone I am tired off?

Sure, I am anal. Heck, it’s a known fact that I have OCD. Had it been 132 pages, I would have spotted it. 1,132 pages with adequate sleep (hence, bother) I would have spotted it. This fact is of course unfortunate for those who lacks attention for detail. This fact is of course tragic for most of the subordinates I had in the past. But hey, I deal with numbers. analytics. patterns. It is a BIG deal.

But the truth is, this thought had bothered me for the longest of time and the only reason I had resisted to write it down in my blog is because a current client of mine had said that she reads my blogs and finds it interesting that I can go on about nothing (off tangent) and yet make ithmmm … interesting. Occasionally insightful, but nevertheless entertaining. I get conscious when someone tells me this. I stop writing for a while. I am an introvert by nature.

but anyhow, what did fullstop do to us?  

seriously, what’s the vengeance?

did it elope with semicolon?

or did it trip dash into being an exclamation mark?

yes, the question of: what is it that consultants have against full.stops? keeps me awake too…

And why consultants?

Well, here’s the thing: I used to (seriously I am not joking), dot every “i”, cross every “t” and puncture a printout with “.” whenever a consultant turns in a report to me without the dots in my corporate life.

And now, everyone around me avoids fullstop like a plague.

keep-calm-and-use-a-full-stop-at-the-end-of-the-sentence

Leave a Reply

